© Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

53-man roster set for Carolina Panthers

Jason Huber
September 01, 2018 - 1:46 pm

The Carolina Panthers released their final 53-man roster on Saturday for the 2018 regular season with some notable cuts and compromised of seven drafted rookies.

QB's Garrett Gilbert and Kyle Allen were waived, leaving Taylor Heinicke as the lone backup to Cam Newton. It is the first time since Cam Newton entered the league that he will have a backup other than Derek Anderson. Notable cuts included RB Kenjon Barner, wide receiver Mose Frazier, offensive lineman Dorian Johnson and cornerback Lorenzo Doss. Three players were placed on the Injured Reserve including OT Jeremiah Sirles, RB Elijah Hood and CB Kevon Seymour.  

According to Panthers writer Bryan Strickland, the roster consists of 37 players who contributed in 2017, 8 rookies (7 drafted)  and 7 veteran offseason acquisitions. That includes offensive tackle Corey Robinson who the Panthers traded for from the Lions on Saturday. 

The Panthers can add players to their practice squad on Sunday at 1 p.m. when all players have cleared waivers. Carolina is #24 on the waiver list. 

Here is a look at the final 53-man roster: 

Final Roster: 

Offensive Players (25)
Quarterbacks (2)
Cam Newton
Taylor Heinicke

Running backs (3)
Christian McCaffrey
C.J. Anderson
Cameron Artis-Payne

Fullback (1)
Alex Armah

Wide receivers(6)
Devin Funchess
D.J. Moore
Curtis Samuel
Torrey Smith
Damiere Byrd
Jarius Wright

Tight ends (3)
Greg Olsen
Ian Thomas
Chris Manhertz

Offensive line (10)
Ryan Kalil
Matt Kalil
Taylor Moton
Daryl Williams (Injured and still could go on IR Monday)
Tyler Larsen
Greg Van Roten
Jeremiah Sirles
Trai Turner
Amini Silatolu
Brendan Mahon
Corey Robinson

Defensive Players (25)
Cornerbacks (4)
James Bradberry
Donte Jackson
Captain Munnerlyn
Corn Elder

Safeties (4)
Mike Adams
Rashaan Gaulden
Da’Norris Searcy
Colin Jones

Linebacker (7)
Luke Kuechly
Shaq Thompson
Andre Smith
Jared Norris
Jermaine Carter
David Mayo
Ben Jacobs

Defensive line (10)
Julius Peppers
Mario Addison
Kawann Short
Dontari Poe
Vernon Butler
Kyle Love
Wes Horton
Efe Obada
Bryan Cox Jr
Marquis Haynes

Special Teams (3)
Place Kicker (1)
Graham Gano

Punter (1)
Michael Palardy

Long snapper (1)
J.J. Jansen

Suspended (1)
LB Thomas Davis (4 Games)

Comments ()